March 19, 2007
Warner Platinum
Rhythm & Blues, Southern Soul, Memphis Soul, AM Pop, Instrumental Rock, Soul

Album Review

Check it: if you are not one of those obsessive types that needs every classic side Booker T. & the MGs recorded for Atlantic (they cannot be blamed since the music is so utterly addictive), and don't already have the Rhino double-disc, this Warner collection will most likely fit the bill. Here are 20 killer cuts -- well, 19, the version of George Gershwin's "Summertime" that closes the disc could have either been lopped off or replaced with something more fitting -- with all the hits and then some. It kicks off with "Green Onions" and "Hip Hug-Her" but it's really just gathering steam. From the roiling fuzzed out funk in Steve Cropper's guitar on Hoyt Axton's "Bootleg," to the lazy, gut bucket stroll of his in the original "Slim Jenkins' Place," the steamy organ shimmy that is "Soul Sanction" and "Soul Dressing," to the bluesed-out "Home Gown" to the amazing version of the Rascals' "Groovin'," it's an excellent comp, and well worth its price tag.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Green Onions
  2. Hip Hug-Her
  3. Boot-Leg
  4. Jellybread
  5. Tic-Tac-Toe
  6. Can't Be Still
  7. Outrage
  8. My Sweet Potato
  9. Booker-Loo
  10. Slim Jenkin's Place
  11. Soul Sanction
  12. Chinese Checkers
  13. Mo' Onions
  14. Pigmy
  15. Home Grown
  16. Behave Yourself
  17. Be My Lady
  18. Soul Dressing
  19. Groovin'
  20. Summertime