Concord Picante
Jazz, World Fusion, Latin Jazz, Afro-Cuban Jazz, Cuban Jazz

Album Review

Percussionist Poncho Sanchez has long led one of the top Latin jazz groups, succeeding his former boss, the late Cal Tjader. On this enjoyable release, Sanchez features plenty of solos from Justo Almario (on alto, tenor, and flute), trumpeter Sal Cracchiolo, and trombonist Art Velasco, and the three percussionists have many opportunities to romp. The jazz content is pretty high with such songs as "Jumpin' With Symphony Sid," "Senor Blues," and "Manteca" alternating with group originals. A fine introduction to the accessible Latin jazz of Poncho Sanchez.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Quindembo
  2. Papa Gato
  3. Serenidad
  4. Jumpin' With Symphony Sid
  5. Balla Balla
  6. Pan Dulce
  7. Tania
  8. SeƱor Blues
  9. Manteca
purchase full album