April 03, 2007
Country, Contemporary Country, Progressive Bluegrass, Bluegrass, Contemporary Bluegrass, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Traditional Bluegrass

Album Review

The title of Rounder's Alison Krauss compilation A Hundred Miles or More: A Collection is a bit misleading. While it does contain previously recorded material, it is not to be taken as a greatest-hits package; rather, the 16 tracks are compiled from Krauss' numerous collaborations, soundtrack appearances, and other non-Union Station gigs. That said, it's as solid a set of material as one could want from the multi-talented Krauss. As a voice for hire, there are few singers with her emotional range, a gift she lends easily to the Elvis Costello-penned "Scarlet Tide" from the Cold Mountain soundtrack. Award-winning duets with Brad Paisley ("Whiskey Lullaby") and James Taylor ("How's the World Treating You") -- the latter a Louvin Brothers cover -- as well as collaborations with the Chieftains ("Molly Bán") from the legendary Irish group's Down the Old Plank Road: The Nashville Sessions) and Sting ("You Will Be My Ain True Love") make this anthology of oddities far from superfluous. A Hundred Miles or More also boasts five new cuts, including "You're Just a Country Boy," "Simple Love," the gorgeous "Jacob's Dream," "Away Down the River," and "Sawing on the Strings," the latter of which harkens back to early, more bluegrass-oriented Krauss.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. You're Just a Country Boy [#]
  2. Simple Love [#]
  3. Jacob's Dream [#]
  4. Away Down the River [#]
  5. Sawing on the Strings
  6. Down to the River to Pray [From Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?]
  7. Baby Mine
  8. Molly Bán (Bawn)
  9. How's the World Treating You
  10. The Scarlet Tide [From Cold Mountain]
  11. Whiskey Lullaby
  12. You Will Be My Ain True Love [From Cold Mountain]
  13. I Give You to His Heart [From the Prince of Egypt]
  14. Get Me Through December
  15. Missing You
  16. Lay Down Beside Me [#]
purchase full album