RELEASE
April 03, 2007
LABEL
Rounder
GENRES
Country, Contemporary Country, Progressive Bluegrass, Bluegrass, Contemporary Bluegrass, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Traditional Bluegrass

Album Review

The title of Rounder's Alison Krauss compilation A Hundred Miles or More: A Collection is a bit misleading. While it does contain previously recorded material, it is not to be taken as a greatest-hits package; rather, the 16 tracks are compiled from Krauss' numerous collaborations, soundtrack appearances, and other non-Union Station gigs. That said, it's as solid a set of material as one could want from the multi-talented Krauss. As a voice for hire, there are few singers with her emotional range, a gift she lends easily to the Elvis Costello-penned "Scarlet Tide" from the Cold Mountain soundtrack. Award-winning duets with Brad Paisley ("Whiskey Lullaby") and James Taylor ("How's the World Treating You") -- the latter a Louvin Brothers cover -- as well as collaborations with the Chieftains ("Molly Bán") from the legendary Irish group's Down the Old Plank Road: The Nashville Sessions) and Sting ("You Will Be My Ain True Love") make this anthology of oddities far from superfluous. A Hundred Miles or More also boasts five new cuts, including "You're Just a Country Boy," "Simple Love," the gorgeous "Jacob's Dream," "Away Down the River," and "Sawing on the Strings," the latter of which harkens back to early, more bluegrass-oriented Krauss.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. You're Just a Country Boy [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/youre-just-a-country-boy/id394756566?i=394756567&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Simple Love [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/simple-love/id394756566?i=394756568&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Jacob's Dream [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/jacobs-dream/id394756566?i=394756569&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Away Down the River [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/away-down-the-river/id394756566?i=394756571&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Sawing on the Stringshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/sawing-on-the-strings/id394756566?i=394756572&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Down to the River to Pray [From Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?]http://itunes.apple.com/album/down-to-the-river-to-pray/id394756566?i=394756573&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Baby Minehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/baby-mine/id394756566?i=394756574&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Molly Bán (Bawn)http://itunes.apple.com/album/a-hundred-miles-or-more-a/id394756566?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. How's the World Treating Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/hows-the-world-treating-you/id394756566?i=394756578&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. The Scarlet Tide [From Cold Mountain]http://itunes.apple.com/album/the-scarlet-tide/id394756566?i=394756587&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Whiskey Lullabyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/whiskey-lullaby/id394756566?i=394756591&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. You Will Be My Ain True Love [From Cold Mountain]http://itunes.apple.com/album/you-will-be-my-ain-true-love/id394756566?i=394756598&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. I Give You to His Heart [From the Prince of Egypt]http://itunes.apple.com/album/i-give-you-to-his-heart/id394756566?i=394756623&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Get Me Through Decemberhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/get-me-through-december/id394756566?i=394756628&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Missing Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/a-hundred-miles-or-more-a/id394756566?uo=5&at=11l9vR
  16. Lay Down Beside Me [#]http://itunes.apple.com/album/lay-down-beside-me/id394756566?i=394756676&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album