RAS Records
Reggae, Dub Poetry, Dub, Roots Reggae

Album Review

Augustus Pablo was rightly praised as a master of dub and as a pioneer of the use of the melodica in reggae, but it could be argued that the most important contribution he made to the development of reggae music was expressed by the young singers he cultivated and whose records he released on his Rockers label. This collection is one of the best of several that have been culled from his large catalog of singles and dub versions. Opening with the melodica showcase "555 Crown Street," the album then takes a detour into DJ territory, with excellent contributions from Dillinger and the obscure Ras Bull, whose "Guide I Jah" is a disarmingly touching expression of spiritual submissiveness. Later there's a great version of the Lennon and McCartney classic "World Without Love" performed by the Immortals, whose rich, gospel-flavored harmonies are offset by a curiously distant mix. Other gems by Delroy Williams, Tetrack, and the late Hugh Mundell alternate with dubs and Pablo instrumentals. Essential.
Rick Anderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. 555 Crown Street
  2. Take It Easy
  3. Guide I Jah
  4. Zambian Step
  5. Think Twice
  6. I'm Not Satisfied
  7. Power of the Trinity
  8. World Without Love
  9. Freedom of Speech
  10. The System
  11. Struggle in Soweto
  12. Pure Worries
  13. Africa Must Be Free