Pop/Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Glam Rock, Adult Contemporary, Soft Rock, Rock & Roll, Album Rock, Pop

Album Review

Rarely has a greatest-hits collection been as effective as Elton John's first compilation of Greatest Hits. Released at the end of 1974, after Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and Caribou had effectively established him as a superstar, Greatest Hits is exactly what it says it is -- it features every one of his Top Ten singles ("Your Song," "Rocket Man," "Honky Cat," "Crocodile Rock," "Daniel," "Goodbye Yellow Brick Road," "Bennie and the Jets," "Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me"), plus the number 12 "Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting" and radio and concert favorite "Border Song." Despite the exclusion of a couple of lesser hits from this era, most notably "Levon" and "Tiny Dancer," Greatest Hits is a nearly flawless collection, offering a perfect introduction to Elton John and providing casual fans with almost all the hits they need.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Your Song
  2. Daniel
  3. Honky Cat
  4. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
  5. Saturday Night's Alright for Fighting
  6. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going to Be a Long, Long Time)
  7. Bennie and the Jets
  8. Candle in the Wind
  9. Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me
  10. Border Song
  11. Crocodile Rock
purchase full album