RELEASE
May 23, 1975
LABEL
Rocket Group Pty LTD
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Singer/Songwriter, Soft Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Album Rock

Album Review

Sitting atop the charts in 1975, Elton John and Bernie Taupin recalled their rise to power in Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy, their first explicitly conceptual effort since Tumbleweed Connection. It's no coincidence that it's their best album since then, showcasing each at the peak of his power, as John crafts supple, elastic, versatile pop and Taupin's inscrutable wordplay is evocative, even moving. What's best about the record is that it works best of a piece -- although it entered the charts at number one, this only had one huge hit in "Someone Saved My Life Tonight," which sounds even better here, since it tidily fits into the musical and lyrical themes. And although the musical skill on display here is dazzling, as it bounces between country and hard rock within the same song, this is certainly a grower. The album needs time to reveal its treasures, but once it does, it rivals Tumbleweed in terms of sheer consistency and eclipses it in scope, capturing John and Taupin at a pinnacle. They collapsed in hubris and excess not long afterward -- Rock of the Westies, which followed just months later is as scattered as this is focused -- but this remains a testament to the strengths of their creative partnership.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboyhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/captain-fantastic-brown-dirt/id379885?i=379883&uo=5
  2. Tower of Babelhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tower-of-babel/id379885?i=379859&uo=5
  3. Bitter Fingershttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bitter-fingers/id379885?i=379861&uo=5
  4. Tell Me When the Whistle Blowshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tell-me-when-the-whistle-blows/id379885?i=379863&uo=5
  5. Someone Saved My Life Tonighthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/someone-saved-my-life-tonight/id379885?i=379865&uo=5
  6. (Gotta Get A) Meal Tickethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/gotta-get-a-meal-ticket/id379885?i=379867&uo=5
  7. Better Off Deadhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/better-off-dead/id379885?i=379869&uo=5
  8. Writinghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/writing/id379885?i=379871&uo=5
  9. We All Fall in Love Sometimeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/we-all-fall-in-love-sometimes/id379885?i=379873&uo=5
  10. Curtainshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/curtains/id379885?i=379875&uo=5
  11. Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/lucy-in-the-sky-with-diamonds/id379885?i=379877&uo=5
  12. One Day (At a Time) [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/captain-fantastic-brown-dirt/id485535551?uo=5
  13. Philadelphia Freedom [*]http://itunes.apple.com/album/philadelphia-freedom/id379885?i=379881&uo=5
purchase full album