June 26, 2007
Blind Pig
Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Modern Electric Blues, Southern Rock

Album Review

Booty Bumpin' is a joyous, down home set from blues guitarist Elvin Bishop and his six-piece band, recorded live on December 3, 2006 at Constable Jack's in California. Bishop is probably best known for the 1976 hit "Fooled Around and Fell in Love," and has maintained a loyal blues following since his early days as a member of the Butterfield Blues Band. On Bishop's second release for Blind Pig, he and his co-horts apply a good-natured heat to 12 tracks that stylistically shift between Chicago blues, Cajun, New Orleans R&B, and a hint of Southern rock, driven by the leader's raw slide guitar and keen sense of humor. Along with several Bishop originals are a few choice cover versions including Roy Milton's "Keep a Dollar in Your Pocket," Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown's "I Feel Alright Again" and the Allen Toussaint composition "I'm Gone." Booty Bumpin' is definitely a timeless, no-nonsense party album.
Al Campbell, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stomp
  2. Stealin' Watermelons
  3. Keep a Dollar in Your Pocket
  4. What the Hell Is Going On
  5. I Feel Alright Again
  6. Booty Bumpin'
  7. Half Way out the Door
  8. My Dog
  9. Belly Rubbin'
  10. I'll Be Glad
  11. Blue Flame
  12. I'm Gone
purchase full album