August 14, 2007
Rap, Southern Rap, Gangsta Rap, Hardcore Rap

Album Review

An interesting idea for a compilation, Featuring...Master P collects some, but by no means all, of Master P's important collaborations and reminds hip-hop fans that once upon a time the No Limit CEO and Ice Cube were tight. That Priority went out and grabbed Cube and P's "You Know I'm a Ho" from the long forgotten Players Club soundtrack shows some smarts and effort. So does snatching "Pure Uncut" off Eightball's solo album Lost, but then the cracks start to show. First, Eightball's name isn't on the track list (licensing issues?) and if you're looking for P's tracks with Mariah Carey, Destiny's Child, or Naughty by Nature, you're out of luck. It's not a huge surprise Priority didn't spend the big money for those tracks but it's especially unfortunate that they didn't bother including any liner notes either. Only search engines and hardcore fans will be able to sort out the when's, where's, and why's and veteran No Limit soldiers probably own most everything on here already. Heck, the big tracks "Make 'Em Say Ugh" and "I'm Bout It, Bout It" are already on any Master P comp worth owning, making this set hard to recommend as a second purchase. It's already a bit odd to recommend as a first, and any high score it earns is because of the abundance of prime No Limit music, not the compilation's necessity.
David Jeffries, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hook It Up
  2. Ice on My Wrist [Remix]
  3. Soldiers, Riders, and G's
  4. How Ya Do Dat
  5. You Know I'm a Ho
  6. No Limit Soldiers
  7. Made Ni**az
  8. Hoody Hoo
  9. Da Ballers
  10. Thug Girl
  11. Weed and Money
  12. Pure Uncut
  13. Make 'Em Say Ugh
  14. Gangstafied
  15. Major Players
  16. Freak Hoes
  17. I'm Bout It, Bout It
  18. Foolish
purchase full album