August 07, 2007
Suburban Home
Pop/Rock, Punk-Pop, Alternative/Indie Rock, Americana, Alternative Country-Rock

Album Review

Colorado alt-country outfit Drag the River and Boston pop-punks the Dents quite literally trade songs on this split EP. Named for a Cheap Trick EP that was released as part of a short-lived series of 10" vinyl discs from Epic in the early '80s, the eight-song Found All the Parts features two songs from the Dents back catalog and two written by members of Drag the River, and each song has been recorded twice, once by each band. As one might expect, Drag the River, playing in semi-acoustic mode, offer relatively gentle, contemplative versions of these tunes, while the Dents kick out the jams at full blast, and frankly some of these songs hold up to the double treatment a lot better than others, with only the closer "Trainwreck" working equally well in both formats. But there's no arguing both bands deliver plenty of heart and soul on these sessions, and with Drag the River calling it quits shortly after the release of this EP, it's a fine reminder of the kind of unexpected thinking that made them memorable.
Mark Deming, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Get Over It or Get It Over With
  2. Get Over It or Get It Over With
  3. Crawling
  4. Crawling
  5. Last One Standing
  6. Last One Standing
  7. Trainwreck
  8. Trainwreck