Charly Records
Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Gospel, New Orleans R&B, Black Gospel

Album Review

Not to be confused with Little Richard's 1972 Warner Reprise comeback album of the same title, The Second Coming is a double-disc compilation released by Charly records in 2006, consisting of selected Vee Jay recordings from the '60s. While remakes of the original '50s Specialty hits have all the charm and resuscitating powers of reheated espresso, the funky soul grooves are decidedly catchy and would come in handy while carousing, imbibing, or causing trouble with harm to none. A serviceable introduction to Little Richard, this will work best as a sequel to his earlier triumphantly rowdy works and as a prelude to his latter-day accomplishments.
arwulf arwulf, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Whole Lotta Shakin' Going On
  2. Hound Dog
  3. Money Honey
  4. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  5. Good Golly Miss Molly
  6. Groovy Little Suzie
  7. Short Fat Fanny
  8. Jenny, Jenny
  9. Lucille
  10. Long Tall Sally
  11. She's Got It
  12. The Girl Can't Help It
  13. Rip It Up
  14. Tutti Frutti
  15. Slippin' and Slidin'
  16. Ooh! My Soul
  17. Baby Face
  18. Keep a-Knockin'
  19. Send Me Some Lovin'
  20. Blueberry Hill
  21. Dance What You Wanna
  22. Dancing All Around the World
  23. Going Home Tomorrow
  24. Goodnight Irene
  25. My Wheel's They Are Slippin' All the Way
  26. Something Moves in My Heart
  27. It Ain't What You Do
  28. Without Love
  29. Talkin' 'Bout Soul
  30. I Don't Know What You've Got (But It's Got Me), Pt. 1-2
  31. Cherry Red
  32. Only You
  33. Memories Are Made of This
  34. I Don't Know What You've Got (But It's Got Me), Pt. 1-2 [Alternate Take
  35. Cross Over
  36. You Better Stop
  37. Why Don't You Love Me (Like You Used to Do)?
  38. Keep a-Knockin'
  39. Belle Stars
  40. Lucille
  41. Long Tall Sally
  42. Funky Dish Rag