August 27, 2007
Union Square Music
Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Prog-Rock, Album Rock, British Psychedelia, Art Rock

Album Review

When Procol Harum burst onto the pop charts in the summer of 1967 with one of the most unlikely Top 40 singles ever released, the slow, ominous, and endlessly mysterious "A Whiter Shade of Pale," the world scratched its head and wondered what this was all about. The song, with its Bach-inspired spooky church organ riff, still holds a good deal of that eerie mystery all these years later, and the superior mono mix of "A Whiter Shade of Pale" is included in this two-disc, 35-track retrospective of the band's career, along with other favorites like "A Salty Dog" and the gorgeous, baffling "Homburg," to make this set both a fine introduction and a solid survey of a most unusual and singular band.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. A Whiter Shade of Pale [Remastered Version]
  2. A Christmas Camel [Remastered Version]
  3. Quite Rightly So [Remastered Version]
  4. Long Gone Geek [Remastered Version]
  5. All This and More [Remastered Version]
  6. Whisky Train [Remastered Version]
  7. Broken Barricades
  8. Simple Sister
  9. A Salty Dog [Live]
  10. Fires (Which Burnt Brightly)
  11. Bringing Home the Bacon
  12. Beyond the Pale
  13. Nothing But the Truth
  14. Something Magic
  15. Holding On
  16. Into the Flood [Live][#]
  17. An Old English Dream
  18. Repent Walpurgis [Remastered Version]
  19. Homburg [Remastered Version]
  20. She Wandered Through the Garden Fence [Remastered Version]
  21. Magdalene (My Regal Zonophone) [Remastered Version]
  22. Shine on Brightly [Remastered Version]
  23. The Devil Came from Kansas [Remastered Version]
  24. Whaling Stories [Remastered Version]
  25. Power Failure
  26. Conquistador [Live]
  27. Grand Hotel
  28. A Souvenir of London
  29. The Idol
  30. As Strong as Samson
  31. Pandora's Box
  32. (You Can't) Turn Back the Page
  33. A Dream in Ev'ry Home
  34. This World Is Rich (For Steven Maboe)
  35. Weisselklenzenacht (The Signature)