October 09, 2007
Pop/Rock, Hard Rock, Album Rock

Album Review

Raven's 2007 two-fer Climbing!/Nantucket Sleighride combines Mountain's first two albums on one disc, supplemented by a few bonus tracks. They're also Mountain's two best and biggest albums, making this a greatest hits of sorts, especially as this contains their two charting singles -- the inevitable "Mississippi Queen" and the considerably less-known "The Animal Trainer and the Toad" -- and what amounts to seven of the 12 songs on their 1973 greatest hits, The Best of Mountain. Although both Climbing! and Nantucket Sleighride were reissued by Columbia/Legacy not long before this disc, this Raven set is as good as those two individual discs -- in some ways, it's better as it gets you both albums in one tidy package, along with the title track of 1971's Flowers of Evil and Bo Grumpus' Felix Pappalardi's co-written "Travelin' in the Dark," taken from the 1968 album Before the War, as bonus cuts.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Mississippi Queen
  2. Theme for an Imaginary Western
  3. Never in My Life
  4. Silver Paper
  5. For Yasgur's Farm
  6. To My Friend
  7. The Laird
  8. Sittin' on a Rainbow
  9. Boys in the Band
  10. Don't Look Around
  11. Taunta (Sammy's Tune)
  12. Nantucket Sleighride (To Owen Coffin)
  13. You Can't Get Away!
  14. Tired Angels (To J.M.H.)
  15. The Animal Trainer and the Toad
  16. My Lady
  17. Travelin' in the Dark (To E.M.P.)
  18. The Great Train Robbery
  19. Flowers of Evil [*]
  20. Travelin' in the Dark [*]