October 29, 2007

Album Review

Sometimes when main members exit rock bands, the group's sound changes significantly. This has not proven to the case with melodic metallists Dokken. Although six-string hero George Lynch was a major part of the group's initial success, his 1997 departure hasn't proven to alter the group's sound as much as originally believed, as evidenced by such subsequent post-Lynch releases as 2008's Lightning Strikes Again. In fact, from a production, sonic, and songwriting standpoint, the album could have been released in 1986, and Dokken's legion of hair-sprayed/fingerless leather glove-wearing fans would have undoubtedly snapped it up. Frontman Don Dokken still sings about love gone bad ("How I Miss Your Smile") while guitarist Jonathan Levin offers Lynch-esque riffs and solos by the bucket load (the album opening "Standing on the Outside"). Sure, you'll have heard it all before if you're a longtime Dokken fan. But with the resurgence of '80s metal sounds in the early 21st century, Dokken are no dummies, and they wisely stick to the sound that made them famous in the first place throughout Lightning Strikes Again.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Standing On the Outside
  2. Give Me a Reason
  3. Heart to Stone
  4. Disease
  5. How I Miss Your Smile
  6. Oasis
  7. Point of No Return
  8. I Remember
  9. Judgment Day
  10. It Means
  11. Release Me
  12. This Fire
purchase full album