October 09, 2007
Blues, Chicago Blues, Delta Blues, Regional Blues, Pre-War Country Blues, Acoustic Blues, Slide Guitar Blues, Pre-War Blues, Electric Delta Blues

Album Review

A sort of odds and ends collection that was originally issued on LP in 1987, Mississippi Blues, Vol. 4 gathers several alternate takes from Robert Johnson recorded between November 1936 and June 1937, including versions of "Cross Road Blues" and "Love in Vain," eight rare sides recorded by Robert Lockwood, Jr. between 1941 and 1955, and the complete recorded works of Otto Virgil (his actual last name appears to have been "Virgial"), which consists of four sides recorded in Chicago on Halloween in 1925. This set sort of unintentionally traces the migration and changes of the Delta blues as it moved north out of Mississippi and on to cities like Chicago. The Lockwood tracks are actually probably the rarest here, since the Johnson material is all included in the Columbia box, and Virgil's sides show up as single tracks on various other anthologies.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Little Girl in Rome
  2. Bad Notion Blues
  3. Got the Blues About Rome
  4. Seven Year Itch
  5. Ramblin' on My Mind
  6. Come on in My Kitchen
  7. Terraplane Blues
  8. Phonograph Blues
  9. Cross Road Blues
  10. Walkin' Blues
  11. Little Queen of Spades
  12. Drunken Hearted Man
  13. Stop Breakin' Down Blues
  14. Traveling Riverside Blues
  15. Love in Vain
  16. Black Spider Blues
  17. I'm Gonna Train My Baby
  18. Little Boy Blue
  19. Take a Little Walk with Me
  20. I'm Gonna Dig Myself a Hole
  21. Dust My Broom
  22. Aw Aw Baby
  23. Sweet Woman from Maine
purchase full album