January 01, 1992
Century Media
Blues, Acoustic Texas Blues, Pre-War Gospel Blues, Pre-War Country Blues, Country Blues, Delta Blues, Acoustic Blues, Piedmont Blues, Blues Revival, Jug Band, Regional Blues, Acoustic Memphis Blues, Pre-War Blues, Blues Gospel, Field Recordings, Songster, Slide Guitar Blues

Album Review

Story of the Blues provides an excellent introductions to acoustic country blues with its three volume Greatest in Country Blues series. While it collects most of the major figures as well as the obscure and their finest performances, there are a certain number of odd ommissions such as Reverend Gary Davis and Robert Nighthawk that prevent it from being the definitive country blues set. Nevertheless, each of the three volumes are an invaluable reference as well as an interesting listen for both the specialist and the novice.
Chris Woodstra, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. High Water Everywhere - Pt.2
  2. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean
  3. Cottonfield Blues Pt. 2
  4. James Alley Blues
  5. I Had a Good Father and Mother
  6. Travelin' Blues
  7. Canned Heat Blues
  8. Minglewood Blues
  9. Nappy Head Blues
  10. Third Street Woman Blues
  11. My Black Mama, Pt. 1
  12. Bull-Doze Blues
  13. Dark Was the Night (Cold Was the Ground)
  14. Trouble Hearted Blues
  15. Honey in the Rock
  16. Frankie
  17. Man Trouble Blues
  18. How Long
  19. Future Blues
  20. Voice Throwin' Blues