October 06, 1992
Pop/Rock, Regional Blues, Album Rock, Electric Texas Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Blues-Rock, Modern Electric Texas Blues

Album Review

This 1980 live broadcast from Austin, TX captures a young Stevie Vaughan (he had yet to become Stevie Ray) blasting the hometown crowd with a style that was already very well-formed. With Chris Layton on drums and bassist Jackie Newhouse (Tommy Shannon would join up a year later), his basic sound was already in place, albeit still in need of some polishing. Taken from the surviving two-track master, Vaughan's guitar is raw and in your face every note of the way. His takes on Freddie King's "In the Open" and the lengthy "Tin Pan Alley" are the real highlights here. Fans of this mercurial guitarist will want to add this one to the collection.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. In the Open
  2. Slide Thing
  3. They Call Me Guitar Hurricane
  4. All Your Love (I Miss Loving)
  5. Tin Pan Alley (AKA Roughest Place in Town)
  6. Love Struck Baby
  7. Tell Me
  8. Shake for Me
  9. Live Another Day
purchase full album