Pop/Rock, Soft Rock, Adult Contemporary, Soul, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Blue-Eyed Soul

Album Review

Songs about matters of the heart are Michael McDonald's bread and butter. In fact, the word "heart" is used several times on this and other McDonald releases (another of the artist's favorite words is "fool," which is nowhere to be found on this album). Highlights include "Get the Word Started," "No Amount of Reason," and the title track, which was a minor hit. Take It to Heart is a bit overproduced at times, but overall it is a nice set by the golden voiced Michael McDonald.
Tim Griggs, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. All We Got
  2. Get the Word Started
  3. Love Can Break Your Heart
  4. Take It to Heart
  5. Tear It Up
  6. Lonely Talk
  7. Searchin' for Understanding
  8. Homeboy
  9. No Amount of Reason
  10. One Step Away
  11. You Show Me