March 17, 1992
Fontana Distribution
Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, New Romantic, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, New Wave, Synth Pop, Punk/New Wave, College Rock, Pop

Album Review

Capturing some of their chart-topping smashes and other key tracks, Tears for Fears marks a monumental career with their collection Tears Roll Down: Greatest Hits 82-92. Toward the end of the praise surrounding their third album, 1991's Seeds of Love, Curt Smith left the band. Roland Orzabal was left to sail the ship alone, and the strong success dwindled years later. However, this dozen-track compilation showcases some of the band's early tracks heavily dominated by pulsating bass drops and heavy synth beats.
"Pale Shelter" and "Mad World" from their 1982 debut The Hurting moved toward the soul-defining musical maturation found on 1985's groundbreaking staple Songs From the Big Chair. The Top Ten hits are undoubtedly featured: "Everybody Wants to Rule the World," "Shout," and the more obscure "Mothers Talk." The luscious "Head Over Heels" cuts short of it's closing guitar work, a disappointment in the grand scheme of Tears for Fears' synth-dominated sound. Such layered riffs separated the rawness from the fluffy new wave aspect. "Sowing the Seeds of Love" marked the band's own branded progressive rock & roll, but "Woman in Chains," the gospel-tinged cut featuring guest vocals from Oleta Adams, was their most spiritual effort. Essentially, the dozen-track collection is a perfect look at what Tears for Fears did for music during the '80s until the mid-'90s. They made new wave sound cool and melodically beautiful.
MacKenzie Wilson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Sowing the Seeds of Love
  2. Everybody Wants to Rule the World
  3. Woman in Chains
  4. Shout
  5. Head over Heels
  6. Mad World
  7. Pale Shelter
  8. I Believe
  9. Laid So Low (Tears Roll Down)
  10. Mothers Talk
  11. Change
  12. Advice for the Young at Heart