October 28, 2008
Rhythm & Blues, Urban, Contemporary R&B

Album Review

Containing all the charting singles from 2002's All I Have, 2005's Touch, and even a trio of songs from 2007's Because I Love It -- easily the best of her first three albums, ironically not released in the U.S. -- Playlist: The Very Best of Amerie was, as of late 2008, the best single Amerie disc on the market. In addition to a handful of album cuts not issued as singles, there's a faithful cover of Diana Ross' "I'm Coming Out" (from the Maid in Manhattan soundtrack) and "Too Much for Me," her appearance on DJ Kayslay's Columbia-released Streetsweeper, Vol. 1 mixtape/compilation.
Andy Kellman, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I'm Coming Out
  2. Hate 2 Love U
  3. 1 Thing
  4. Why Don't We Fall in Love
  5. Touch
  6. Gotta Work
  7. Talkin' to Me
  8. Take Control
  9. Can We Go
  10. Losing U
  11. Talkin' About
  12. Just What I Needed to See
  13. Too Much for Me
  14. Take Control [Karmatronic Remix]
  15. [CD-Rom Track]
purchase full album