Jazz, Hard Bop, Bop, Jazz Instrument, Saxophone Jazz

Album Review

This ballad-oriented set features veteran altoist Frank Morgan on four duets with pianist George Cables, interacting with either Cables or Ronnie Mathews on piano, bassist Buster Williams and drummer Al Foster on the other selections, and welcoming trumpeter Wynton Marsalis to "Bessie's Blues" and "Up Jumped Spring." Every Morgan recording is well worth picking up (the altoist has been very consistent in the studio), but this one purposely has less mood variation than most and is often a bit melancholy.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Lullaby
  2. This Love of Mine
  3. In a Sentimental Mood
  4. Bessie's Blues
  5. A Moment Alone
  6. Mood Indigo
  7. Up Jumped Spring
  8. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  9. We Three Blues
  10. 'Round Midnight
  11. Lullaby
  12. Gratitude
purchase full album