June 05, 1992
Jazz, Early Jazz, New Orleans Jazz, Trad Jazz

Album Review

This single CD reissues all of the music on the earlier double LP of the same title (and catalog number), except for some alternate takes, although it confuses matters a bit by adding a "new" alternate of "Milenberg Joys." The New Orleans Rhythm Kings were the best group on record during 1922, and all of its earliest recordings are on this essential release. With the solid cornet of Paul Mares, the excellent ensemble playing of trombonist George Brunies, and the superb soloing of clarinetist Leon Ropollo, the NORK was the most advanced jazz band of its time. The recordings on the CD include sessions as an octet, a quintet, and a tentet. Some of the latter performances showcase the innovative pianist/composer Jelly Roll Morton. Highlights include "Tiger Rag," "Maple Leaf Rag," the original versions of "Farewell Blues," "That's a Plenty," "Bugle Call Rag," and "Tin Roof Blues" (the latter having Brunies' most famous trombone solo), plus the Morton sides (including "Clarinet Marmalade," "Mr. Jelly Lord," and "Milenberg Joys"). Classic and historic music.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Eccentric
  2. Farewell Blues
  3. Discontented Blues
  4. Bugle Call Rag
  5. Panama
  6. Tiger Rag
  7. Livery Stable Blues
  8. Oriental
  9. Sweet Lovin' Man [1st Take]
  10. That's A-Plenty [2nd Take]
  11. Shim-Me-Sha-Wabble
  12. Weary Blues
  13. That Da Da Strain
  14. Wolverine Blues [3rd Take]
  15. Maple Leaf Rag
  16. Tin Roof Blues [3rd Take]
  17. Sobbin' Blues
  18. Marguerite
  19. Angry
  20. Clarinet Marmalade [1st Take]
  21. Clarinet Marmalade [2nd Take]
  22. Mr. Jelly Lord [2nd Take]
  23. Mr. Jelly Lord [4th Take]
  24. London Blues
  25. Milenberg Joys [1st Take]
  26. Milenberg Joys [take 4][Alternate Take]
  27. Mad