Beat Goes On
Jazz, Bop, Jazz Instrument, Guitar Jazz

Album Review

Long considered a classic, guitarist Joe Pass' fourth date as a leader finds him performing music that was composed by Django Reinhardt, was part of his repertoire, or is one of two more recent tributes (John Lewis' "Django" and Pass' "For Django"). Pass is joined by the rhythm guitar of John Pisano, bassist Jim Hughart, and drummer Colin Bailey; the quartet would reunite in the 1980s. Although Pass was actually more strongly influenced by Charlie Christian than by Reinhardt and he had already formed his own style, he has no difficulty fitting into the music. Highlights include "Rosetta," "Nuages," and "Limehouse Blues."
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Django
  2. Rosetta
  3. Nuages
  4. For Django
  5. Night and Day
  6. Fleur d'Ennui
  7. Insensiblement
  8. Cavalerie
  9. Django's Castle
  10. Limehouse Blues
purchase full album