Amherst Records
Easy Listening, Traditional Pop, Bop, Instrumental Pop, Jazz Instrument, Trumpet Jazz

Album Review

Of the Tonight Show Band's three Amherst CDs, this is the most highly recommended one. The repertoire is fresher than the songs featured on the two earlier releases and, in addition to the usual swing-era standards, such tunes as Tommy Newsom's "Three Shades of Blue" and Stevie Wonder's "Isn't She Lovely" are included. Guest appearances by trumpeter Wynton Marsalis ("Avalon") and singer Tony Bennett ("I Can't Get Started") add some variety, the arrangements (mostly by the innovative Bill Holman and Tommy Newsom) are generally colorful, and the band (featuring such soloists as trumpeters Doc Severinsen, Snooky Young, and Conte Candoli; tenor saxophonist Pete Christlieb; and pianist Ross Tompkins) sounds in prime form. Recommended.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Honeysuckle Rose!/id712703363?uo=5
  2. Poor Butterfly!/id712703363?uo=5
  3. Body and Soul!/id712703363?uo=5
  4. Just Friends!/id712703363?uo=5
  5. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart!/id712703363?uo=5
  6. Three Shades of Blue!/id712703363?uo=5
  7. St. Louis Blues!/id712703363?uo=5
  8. I Can't Get Started!/id712703363?uo=5
  9. Avalon!/id712703363?uo=5
  10. My Old Flame!/id712703363?uo=5
  11. Things Ain't What They Used to Be!/id712703363?uo=5
  12. What Is This Thing Called Love?!/id712703363?uo=5
  13. Isn't She Lovely!/id712703363?uo=5
  14. Bugle Call Rag!/id712703363?uo=5
purchase full album