Somerset Entertainment
Jazz, Instrumental Pop, Contemporary Jazz, Crossover Jazz, Smooth Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Trumpet Jazz

Album Review

Let's Fall in Love compiles tracks off trumpeter Chris Botti's various albums for Columbia beginning with his 2001 label debut, Night Sessions, and through to 2007's Italia. Also included are cuts off his stellar 2004 release When I Fall in Love, as well as tracks from such earlier Columbia albums as 2003's Thousand Kisses Deep and 2005's To Love Again: The Duets. All of these albums feature Botti's elegant and romantic approach to jazz standards and Great American Songbook compositions. Neither completely straight-ahead nor totally smooth jazz-oriented, Botti's music is a unique mix of both styles with a heavy debt to legendary jazz trumpeter Miles Davis. Although Botti does employ tasteful synthesizers on occasion, much of the music here should appeal to fans of traditional pop songs arranged with jazz orchestrations and featuring an acoustic backing quartet. Framed in this way, Botti's supple trumpet playing is showcased in a romantic, deeply evocative fashion.
Matt Collar, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Let's Fall in Love
  2. The Very Thought of You
  3. Embraceable You
  4. When I Fall in Love
  5. I'll Be Seeing You
  6. My Funny Valentine
  7. Venice
  8. All Would Envy
  9. The Way You Look Tonight
  10. Someone to Watch Over Me
  11. Make Someone Happy
  12. Blue Horizon
  13. Here's That Rainy Day
  14. What's New?
  15. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes