July 21, 2009
Country, Progressive Bluegrass, Bluegrass, Contemporary Bluegrass, Contemporary Country, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Traditional Bluegrass

Album Review

The 14 tracks that make up Rounder's Essential Alison Krauss were handpicked by the artist herself. A successful performer since the age of 14, Krauss had quite the well to draw from, and Essential does a nice job giving listeners a cupful from each stage in her career, from the spirited, traditional bluegrass that propelled her into the spotlight in the late '80s to her genre-bending work with ex-Led Zeppelin vocalist Robert Plant in the late 2000s. While by no means an exhaustive study of the artist, Essential Alison Krauss offers a tidy, compact summation of the talented singer/fiddler's career to date.
James Christopher Monger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Simple Love
  2. Sister Rosetta Goes Before Us
  3. Let Me Touch You for Awhile
  4. The Lucky One
  5. So Long, So Wrong
  6. Empty Hearts
  7. Every Time You Say Goodbye
  8. Wish I Still Had You [Live]
  9. Broadway
  10. Baby, Now That I've Found You [Live]
  11. Sawing on the Strings
  12. Restless
  13. When You Say Nothing at All [Live]
  14. A Living Prayer
  15. [CD-Rom Track] [Multimedia]