September 15, 1987
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Punk, Punk/New Wave, College Rock, American Punk, New York Punk

Album Review

Although Halfway to Sanity still bears remnants of the heavy guitar attack of Animal Boy, it's actually a much sharper record than its predecessor, since it doesn't ignore the Ramones' trashy pop roots. There's still a noticeable lack of consistent material, yet cuts like "Go Lil' Camaro Go" and "I Know Better Now" have solid hooks, and a handful of other songs suggest that the Ramones could have handled their second decade a little more gracefully than they actually did. It may not be as strong as Subterranean Jungle or Too Tough to Die, but in many ways, Halfway to Sanity is the last time the Ramones still sounded like they mattered.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Wanna Live
  2. Bop 'Til You Drop
  3. Garden of Serenity
  4. Weasel Face
  5. Go Lil' Camaro Go
  6. I Know Better Now
  7. Death of Me
  8. I Lost My Mind
  9. A Real Cool Time
  10. I'm Not Jesus
  11. Bye Bye Baby
  12. Worm Man
purchase full album