July 24, 2009
Ruf Records
Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock

Album Review

Appearing almost 18 months after his death, Songs from the Road collects highlights from Jeff Healey's 2006 performance at Norway's Nottoden Blues Festival, plus 2007 gigs in London and Toronto (the latter at his hometown club, the Jeff Healey Roadhouse). Songs from the Road paints a good portrait of Healey the road warrior, playing old favorites, both of his own and a wide variety of classic rock and blues artists, including Muddy Waters and two from the Beatles. Healey doesn't surprise here, either in repertoire or attack, but he does satisfy, both as a guitarist and an all-around entertainer, making this collection a nice coda to his career.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Think I Love You Too Much
  2. I'm Ready
  3. Stop Breaking Down
  4. Angel Eyes
  5. Come Together
  6. Hoochie Coochie Man
  7. White Room
  8. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  9. Whipping Post
  10. Teach Your Children Well
  11. Santa, Bring My Baby Back (To Me)
purchase full album