Sony Music Distribution
Jazz, Jazz-Funk, Soul, Crossover Jazz

Album Review

Ronnie Foster's Columbia debut, Love Satellite, is for all intents and purposes an R&B record swaddled in the trappings of jazz -- the aptly titled "Happy Song" even features drums from no less than Stevie Wonder, whose groundbreaking mid-'70s Motown LPs profoundly shaped the sound and scope of Foster's concurrent efforts. Ably supported by a cast of fusion giants including vibist Roy Ayers, bassist Alphonso Johnson, and drummer Harvey Mason, Foster creates music that is smart and focused yet unapologetically commercial in orientation and presentation -- though played with the expertise and dynamism of jazz, the songs speak to the body at the exclusion of the mind.
Jason Ankeny, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Why Don't You Look Inside
  2. A Soft Heart
  3. Happy Song
  4. Shooting Star
  5. Midnight Plane
  6. I Want to Bring My Love Home
  7. Easier Said Than Done
  8. Nassau Day
  9. Love Satellite