September 22, 2009
Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Cabaret, French Pop, Baroque Pop, AM Pop

Album Review

Like Marianne Faithfull, who enacted a similarly unlikely transition from '60s pop girl to modern-day legend (and affected a remarkable change in vocal stylings too), Jane Birkin has never been afraid to push her audience and herself alike, and the concert captured on 2009's live Au Palace finds her in fine form. Older fans will recognize more than a handful of "classic" Birkin numbers here, including "Ford Mustang," "Fuire le Bonheur," and the self-magnifying swing of "Ex Fan des Sixties" (the title track from her 1978 album), although the emphasis is naturally on 2008's Enfants d'Hiver: seven of the 21 songs hail from that set. The remainder are, unsurprisingly, Serge Gainsbourg compositions, but this is no exercise in simple nostalgia. A strong repertoire is given the arrangements it demands, and Birkin has rarely sounded better.
Dave Thompson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. L' Anamour
  2. Prends cette main
  3. Ex-fan des sixties
  4. Sous le soleil exactement
  5. Enfants d'hiver
  6. Exercice en forme de Z
  7. La Grâce de Toi
  8. Aung San Suu Kyi
  9. Amour des feintes
  10. Ford Mustang
  11. 14 février
  12. Période bleue
  13. Yesterday, yes a day
  14. Pauvre Lola
  15. Madame
  16. Je suis venu te dire que je m'en vais
  17. Les P'tits Papiers
  18. Quoi
  19. Pourquoi
  20. L' Eau à la Bouche
  21. Fuir le bonheur