November 24, 2009
Collectors' Choice Music
Country, Progressive Country, Outlaw Country, Traditional Country, Country-Folk

Album Review

Collectors Choice’s 2009 two-fer combines Waylon and Singer of Sad Songs, two Jennings LPs from 1970, onto one CD. Both albums find Waylon pushing somewhat at the restraints of Nashville’s studio system, as he starts to rock a little bit harder -- the former contains Chuck Berry’s “Brown Eyed Handsome Man,” the latter the Rolling Stones’ “Honky Tonk Woman” -- and finds risky, ambitious material to sing, including Tom Rush’s “No Regrets” and Tim Hardin’s “If I Were a Carpenter,” while picking unconventional tunes from Merle Haggard (“All of Me Belongs to You”) to sing. Both records are moodier than those on Love of the Common People/Hangin’ On, and are tougher, too, all without departing from the lush tapestry of stringed instruments and harmonies that distinguish Jennings’ RCA works. Again, it’s possible to hear where Waylon wanted to go -- to hear the roots of Honky Tonk Heroes -- but there is considerable appeal in the friction between his increasing rebellion and Nashville’s conservative ways, an appeal that’s plainly evident on both of these strong LPs.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  2. Just Across the Way
  3. Don't Play the Game
  4. Shutting Out the Light
  5. I May Never Pass This Way Again
  6. The Thirty Third of August
  7. Yellow Haired Woman
  8. Where Love Has Died
  9. All of Me Belongs to You
  10. Yes, Virginia [Remake] [Version]
  11. This Time Tomorrow (I'll be Gone)
  12. Singer of Sad Songs
  13. Sick and Tired
  14. Time Between Bottles of Wine
  15. Must You Throw Dirt in My Face
  16. No Regrets
  17. Ragged But Right
  18. Honky Tonk Woman
  19. She Comes Running
  20. If I Were a Carpenter
  21. Donna on My Mind
  22. Rock, Salt and Nails