January 26, 2010
Pop/Rock, Post-Rock, Experimental Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

Tim Kinsella's Joan of Arc have always been a free-floating collective of musicians, translating Kinsella's songwriting into musical language with all the tools (and people) they happen to have available at the time of recording. And, as occasionally happens on Joan of Arc records, 2010's Don't Mind Control expands the concept yet further. This one includes 18 different groups performing new songs, the only cord tying them together being kinship with the band at some point. The bands range from likely one-time-only assemblages to more established acts in the Joan of Arc sphere, and making appearances are many of the old familiar names: Ben Vida, Mike Kinsella, Josh Abrams, and Cale Parks. As could be expected, the musical range is wide, from skronky guitar workouts to confessional acoustic songwriting to experimental drones. What ties them together is the apparent goal of Joan of Arc from the beginning: to dispense the widest variety of sounds from the most familial group of musicians in indie rock.
John Bush, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Uwar
  2. Guider
  3. Privacy
  4. The Doug McComb Over
  5. No More No Where
  6. Kickstart
  7. Friend in Common
  8. Spit in Layers
  9. Long Looks
  10. Blanes Echo Blirds, Bless Echo Blouds
  11. Oh Solo
  12. Roots Dug into Dunes = Landslide
  13. Second Door from the Left
  14. Flicker
  15. Friday the 13th, Pt. 2
  16. Oakey
  17. Gameshow Buzzer
  18. Drivin' Me Crazy