Pop/Rock, Prog-Rock, Art Rock, Psychedelic

Album Review

Although Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus has the reputation of being Spirit's most far-out album, it actually contains the most disciplined songwriting and playing of the original lineup, cutting back on some of the drifting and offering some of their more melodic tunes. The lilting "Nature's Way" was the most endearing FM standard on the album, which also included some of Spirit's best songs in "Animal Zoo" and "Mr. Skin." [The 1996 CD reissue has four bonus tracks, though these are on the nonessential side: mono versions of "Animal Zoo" and "Morning Will Come," the 1970 single "Red Light Roll On," and the previously unissued "Rougher Road."]
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Prelude - Nothin' to Hide
  2. Nature's Way
  3. Animal Zoo
  4. Love Has Found a Way
  5. Why Can't I Be Free
  6. Mr. Skin
  7. Space Child
  8. When I Touch You
  9. Street Worm
  10. Life Has Just Begun
  11. Morning Will Come
  12. Soldier
  13. Rougher Road [#][*]
  14. Animal Zoo [Mono Single Version][*]
  15. Morning Will Come [Alternate Mono Mix][#][*]
  16. Red Light Roll On [*]
purchase full album