September 28, 1993
Pop/Rock, Punk/New Wave, Album Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, New Wave

Album Review

Despite their legendary status, the Police only released five albums during their brief reign from 1978-1983. In addition, the trio had amassed a healthy amount of both studio and live B-sides, plus songs that only appeared on soundtracks. For the 1993 four-CD box set Message in a Box: The Complete Recordings, every single song the Police ever recorded is included. All the tracks were digitally remastered for the project, sounding superior to the original CD versions of the single albums. Also included is a 68-page booklet that includes an interesting (and often humorous) biography, a time line, and notes from all three bandmembers regarding the rarities that appear for the first time on compact disc here. But of course, the real charm of the box set is the music -- album tracks ("Hole in My Life," "It's Alright for You," "Driven to Tears"), hits ("Message in a Bottle," "Can't Stand Losing You," "Spirits in the Material World"), and rarities ("Fallout," a live version of "Next to You") are all timeless classics. While the set is highly recommended to newcomers just discovering the wonders of the Police, longtime fans should consider replacing their tinny-sounding single CDs with the definitive Message in a Box. After all, it contains a total of 24 tracks unavailable (for the most part) anywhere else.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Fallout
  2. Nothing Achieving
  3. Dead End Job
  4. Next to You
  5. So Lonely
  6. Roxanne
  7. Hole in My Life
  8. Peanuts
  9. Can't Stand Losing You
  10. Truth Hits Everybody
  11. Born in the 50's
  12. Be My Girl - Sally
  13. Masoko Tanga
  14. Landlord [Live]
  15. Next to You [Live]
  16. Landlord
  17. Message in a Bottle
  18. Reggatta de Blanc
  19. It's Alright for You
  20. Bring on the Night
  21. Deathwish
  22. Walking on the Moon
  23. On Any Other Day
  24. The Bed's Too Big Without You
  25. Contact
  26. Does Everyone Stare
  27. No Time This Time
  28. Visions of the Night
  29. The Bed's Too Big Without You [Mono Version]
  30. Truth Hits Everybody [Live]
  31. Friends
  32. Don't Stand So Close to Me
  33. Driven to Tears
  34. When the World Is Running Down, You Make the Best of What's Still
  35. Canary in a Coalmine
  36. Voices Inside My Head
  37. Bombs Away
  38. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
  39. Behind My Camel
  40. Man in a Suitcase
  41. Shadows in the Rain
  42. The Other Way of Stopping
  43. A Sermon
  44. Driven to Tears [Live]
  45. Shambelle
  46. Spirits in the Material World
  47. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
  48. Invisible Sun
  49. Hungry for You (J'Aurais Toujours Faim de Toi)
  50. Demolition Man
  51. Too Much Information
  52. Rehumanize Yourself
  53. One World (Not Three)
  54. Omega Man
  55. Secret Journey
  56. Darkness
  57. Flexible Strategies
  58. Low Life
  59. How Stupid Mr. Bates
  60. A Kind of Loving
  61. Synchronicity I
  62. Walking in Your Footsteps
  63. O My God
  64. Mother
  65. Miss Gradenko
  66. Synchronicity II
  67. Every Breath You Take
  68. King of Pain
  69. Wrapped Around Your Finger
  70. Tea in the Sahara
  71. Murder by Numbers
  72. Man in a Suitcase [Live]
  73. Someone to Talk To
  74. Message in a Bottle [Live]
  75. I Burn for You
  76. Once upon a Daydream
  77. Tea in the Sahara [Live]
  78. Don't Stand So Close to Me '86
purchase full album