November 16, 1993
Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Doo Wop

Album Review

Billy Ward was neither a flamboyant vocalist nor a great instrumentalist; his success came directly from his ability to spot and nurture talent. Unfortunately, Ward was also a taskmaster and couldn't hold onto singers very long after discovering and recruiting them for his groups. But for a short period in the 1950s, Ward and the Dominoes ruled R&B by featuring two of its premier vocalists, Clyde McPhatter and Jackie Wilson. Neither stayed long, but were in the band enough time to make some seminal hits, included in this 20-cut anthology. Ironically, the song the group is remembered for the most featured bass vocalist Bill Brown doing the lead on the title track.
Ron Wynn, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Do Something for Me
  2. Chicken Blues
  3. "No! " Says My Heart
  4. Weeping Willow Blues
  5. Harbor Lights
  6. Sixty Minute Man
  7. The Deacon Moves In
  8. Heart to Heart
  9. I Am With You
  10. That's What You're Doing to Me
  11. These Foolish Things
  12. When the Swallows Come Back to Capistrano
  13. Have Mercy Baby
  14. I'd Be Satisfied
  15. The Bells
  16. Pedal Pushin' Papa
  17. You Can't Keep a Good Man Down
  18. Rags to Riches
  19. Can't Do Sixty No More
  20. Stardust