RELEASE
1994
LABEL
Alligator Records
GENRES
Blues, Chicago Blues, Modern Electric Chicago Blues, Modern Electric Blues, Regional Blues

Album Review

Soul Fixin' Man was blues guitarist/vocalist Luther Allison's first American recording in nearly 20 years. However, his domestic inactivity was not because Allison had stopped playing music. Far from it, since he was based in Paris and worked constantly on the European continent. A powerful player whose intensity on this set sometimes borders on rock (although remaining quite grounded in blues), Luther Allison (who contributed eight of the dozen songs) displays the large amount of musical growth he had experienced since the mid-'70s. Joined by his quintet, the Memphis Horns, and (on "Freedom") a choir, Allison is heard throughout in top form.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Bad Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/bad-love/id5675654?i=5675630&uo=5
  2. I Want to Knowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-want-to-know/id5675654?i=5675632&uo=5
  3. Soul Fixin' Manhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/soul-fixin-man/id5675654?i=5675634&uo=5
  4. Middle of the Roadhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/middle-of-the-road/id5675654?i=5675636&uo=5
  5. She Was Born That Wayhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/she-was-born-that-way/id5675654?i=5675638&uo=5
  6. Gave It Allhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/gave-it-all/id5675654?i=5675640&uo=5
  7. You Been Teasin' Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/you-been-teasin-me/id5675654?i=5675642&uo=5
  8. Nobody But Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/nobody-but-you/id5675654?i=5675644&uo=5
  9. Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Ishttp://itunes.apple.com/album/put-your-money-where-your/id5675654?i=5675646&uo=5
  10. The Things I Used to Dohttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-things-i-used-to-do/id5675654?i=5675648&uo=5
  11. Love Stringhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/love-string/id5675654?i=5675650&uo=5
  12. Freedomhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/freedom/id5675654?i=5675652&uo=5
purchase full album