Rhythm & Blues, Southern Soul, Regional Blues, Early R&B, Soul, Memphis Soul, Electric Memphis Blues

Album Review

One of the artists who defined Memphis soul and put Stax Records on the map, Rufus Thomas is known for liking his R&B hard-edged, gritty and earthy. That approach served him impressively well on his debut album Walking the Dog. In contrast to the sleeker, more elaborate production style favored by the Northern soulsters of Motown, Thomas rejects pop elements altogether and thrives on rawness on his hits "Walking the Dog" and "The Dog," as well as inspired versions of "Land of 1000 Dances" (which became a major hit for Wilson Pickett), Lee Dorsey's "Ya Ya" and John Lee Hooker's "Boom Boom." Thomas was in his mid-40s when these fun, infectious recordings were made, and he definitely lives up to his title "The World's Oldest Teenager" (a title later given to Dick Clark as well). Reissued on CD in the early 1990s, Walking the Dog is an album Memphis soul aficionados shouldn't overlook.
Alex Henderson, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Dog
  2. Mashed Potatoes
  3. Ooh Poo Pah Doo
  4. You Said
  5. Boom Boom
  6. It's Aw'rite
  7. Walking the Dog
  8. Ya Ya
  9. Land of 1000 Dances
  10. Can Your Monkey Do the Dog
  11. Cause I Love You
  12. I Want to Be Loved
purchase full album