Country, Honky Tonk, Traditional Country, Western Swing, Instrumental Country

Album Review

The "king of the hillbilly piano players" shows up at his best on these 24 tracks, cut during his prime years, 1946 through 1954, when he was associated principally with King Records. It's easy to hear the roots of Jerry Lee Lewis's (as well as elements of Carl Perkins') sound in early cuts like "Cherokee Boogie", on which Moon Mullican and his band find room for a rippling, pounding performance on piano as well as a short, hot guitar solo around a jaunty, funny honky tonk core, and most of the rest of what's here is as good as that. Indeed, 90 percent of this collection would have passed as rock & roll a few years later, with "Rocket to the Moon" so suggestive as to have had the potential to be banned -- the latter also features one of the rare sax solos heard on this collection, which mostly features hot piano and guitar. There is some purer country here as well, including "I'll Sail My Ship Alone," Mullican's one serious hit, a ballad of lost love made special primarily by his flashy piano solo and its catchy chorus; the jaunty "Downstream," a lament about a life misspent; and a country waltz version of Leadbelly's "Goodnight Irene." There also a fair amount of country blues, including "I Done It" and "Moonshine Blues," both showcases for the artist's piano. The sound is excellent and the programming generous, and if there is one flaw, it's the lack of information about the recordings or the sessions in the notes, but that doesn't detract from the music at all.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hey, Mr. Cotton Picker
  2. Leaving You With a Worried Mind
  3. What's the Matter with the Mill?
  4. Pipeliner Blues
  5. Triflin' Woman Blues
  6. Nine Tenths of the Tennessee River
  7. Cherokee Boogie
  8. All I Need Is You
  9. I'll Sail My Ship Alone
  10. Good Deal Lucille
  11. Moonshine Blues
  12. Rocket to the Moon
  13. Downstream
  14. I Done It
  15. Goodnight Irene
  16. Rheumatism Boogie
  17. Well Oh Well
  18. Don't Ever Take My Picture Down
  19. The Lonesone Hearted Blues
  20. It's a Sin to Love You Like I Do
  21. I'm Gonna Move Home Bye and Bye
  22. I Left My Heart in Texas
  23. I'll Take Your Hat Right off My Rack