September 13, 2010
Pop/Rock, Early Pop/Rock, Instrumental Rock, Rock & Roll

Album Review

By running his leads through the lower strings of his Gretsch guitar and making full use of the recently introduced tremolo bar, Duane Eddy came up with a distinctive tone and style that was part ragged R&B and part early proto-surf in the late 1950s and early '60s, a combination that made him rock’s first instrumental star. This generous 24-track set contains his biggest hits from his 1958-1963 commercial peak, and it includes enduring instrumental classics like “Ramrod,” “Rebel Rouser,” “Cannonball,” “Forty Miles of Bad Road,” and the title track, “Movin’ 'N' Groovin’,” which was Eddy’s debut single. All the essentials are here, and since Eddy used the same successful guitar tricks on everything he did, this set will no doubt be plenty for most listeners.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Movin' 'N' Groovin'
  2. Up and Down
  3. Rebel-Rouser
  4. Stalkin'
  5. Ramrod
  6. The Walker
  7. Cannon Ball
  8. Mason-Dixon Line
  9. The Lonely One
  10. Detour
  11. Yep!
  12. Three-Thirty Blues
  13. Peter Gunn
  14. Forty Miles of Bad Road
  15. The Quiet Three
  16. Some Kinda Earthquake
  17. First Love, First Tears
  18. Bonnie Came Back
  19. Lost Island
  20. Rebel Walk
  21. My Blue Heaven
  22. The Battle
  23. Trambone
  24. Tiger Love and Turnip Greens
purchase full album