Jazz, Bop

Album Review

The previously unreleased material included on this 1994 CD features the great baritonist Serge Chaloff performing on radio broadcasts from Boston. Most intriguing are four concise duets from 1946 (before Chaloff became famous) with pianist Rollins Griffith. Otherwise, Chaloff is heard in 1950 with quartets and quintets which often include pianist Nat Pierce, and sometimes trombonists Sonny Truitt or Milt Gold. The recording quality is decent for the period, and Chaloff (who at one point is briefly interviewed by a disc jockey) is in excellent form on the boppish material. Highlights include "The Goof and I," "Four Brothers," "Body and Soul," two versions of "Pennies From Heaven," and "Keen and Peachy."
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Intro-Gabardine and Serge (Tiny's Blues)
  2. The Goof and I
  3. Everything Happens to Me
  4. Pennies From Heaven
  5. Chaloff Interview
  6. Four Brothers
  7. Gabardine and Serge [Closing]
  8. Pennies From Heaven
  9. Gabardine And Serge
  10. Billie's Bounce
  11. Body and Soul
  12. Blue Serge
  13. Red Cross
  14. Gabardine and Serge
  15. Pennies From Heaven
  16. These Foolish Things
  17. Keen and Peachy
purchase full album