Country, Traditional Country, Bluegrass, Contemporary Bluegrass, Traditional Bluegrass, Progressive Country, Contemporary Country, Old-Timey, Country-Rock, Nashville Sound/Countrypolitan, New Traditionalist, Bluegrass-Gospel, Truck Driving Country, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Gospel, Progressive Bluegrass

Album Review

Like many Rhino compilations, this is geared more to the novice or the casual fan than the aficionado, but that's not a criticism. If someone wants a basic primer of the bluegrass sound past and present that manages to be accessible and avoid unduly clich├ęd track selection, this 18-song compilation fits the bill well. Most of the biggest names are here (Bill Monroe, Flatt & Scruggs, the Dillards, the Stanley Brothers, the Kentucky Colonels, J.D. Crowe, Ricky Skaggs, Alison Krauss), as are some of the genre's top standards ("Blue Moon of Kentucky," "Orange Blossom Special," "Uncle Pen," "Foggy Mountain Breakdown"). The inclusion of Flatt & Scruggs' "The Ballad of Jed Clampett," Eric Weissberg and Steve Mandell's "Dueling Banjos," and the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band's "Will the Circle Be Unbroken" may rankle purists, but it clears the path to listeners who are only familiar with the idiom through these songs, and may find a lot more that they'll like on the less overexposed performances on this anthology.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Uncle Pen
  2. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  3. This Weary Heart You Stole Away (Wake Up, Sweetheart)
  4. Are You Missing Me?
  5. You Don't Know My Mind
  6. Rocky Top
  7. Blue Moon of Kentucky
  8. Orange Blossom Special
  9. The Ballad of Jed Clampett
  10. Dooley
  11. Nine Pound Hammer
  12. Roving Gambler
  13. Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms
  14. Dueling Banjos
  15. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  16. Old Home Place
  17. Little Cabin Home On the Hill
  18. Love You in Vain