March 14, 1995
Warner Bros.
Vocal Music, Vocal Jazz

Album Review

A pleasantly light collaboration between pianist Bob James and his daughter, in which her voice is used to good advantage on a collection of ballads that range from a James/James composition to Elvis Costello's "Baby Plays Around," taking in an e.e. cummings poem along the way. The end result is far more light soul music than jazz, with Hilary James not being called on to stretch her voice to any great extent (in fact, she's heavily multi-tracked on the majority of these songs), although there's some very nice jazz-inflected playing from Bob James and assorted musicians that include Manu Katche, Lee Ritenour and Pino Palladino.
Steven McDonald, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Shelter Me
  2. Storm Warning
  3. Just Like My Lover
  4. After the Fall
  5. Somebody Make Me Laugh
  6. Oasis
  7. Baby Plays Around
  8. Up into the Silence the Green
  9. Flesh and Blood
  10. We Could Make Such Beautiful Music Together
purchase full album

Similar Albums