February 08, 2011
Snapper UK
Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Rock & Roll, Early Pop/Rock, Doo Wop

Album Review

Complete Rock ’n’ Roll’s 2011 collection Baby That Is Rock 'n' Roll is a terrific collection of 24 of the Coasters’ rocking best, all presented in mono. Not strictly a hits collection, this nevertheless has many of their biggest singles -- “Searchin',” “Young Blood,” “Yakety Yak,” “Charlie Brown,” “Poison Ivy,” “Down in Mexico,” “Shoppin’ for Clothes” -- along with many of Lieber & Stoller’s wackiest, funniest songs for the group, plus the immortal “Smokey Joe’s Café,” recorded when the group was called the Robins. Perhaps there are more complete hits collections out there but nothing here is anything less than prime, so it’s more than worth its budget price.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Smokey Joe's Café
  2. Down in Mexico
  3. Turtle Dovin'
  4. One Kiss Led to Another
  5. Searchin'
  6. Young Blood
  7. Idol with the Golden Head
  8. (When She Wants Good Lovin') My Baby Comes to Me
  9. Yakety Yak
  10. Zing Went the Strings of My Heart
  11. The Shadow Knows
  12. Sorry But I'm Gonna Have to Pass
  13. Charlie Brown
  14. Three Cool Cats
  15. Along Came Jones
  16. That Is Rock 'n' Roll
  17. Poison Ivy
  18. I'm a Hog for You
  19. Run Red Run
  20. What About Us?
  21. Besame Mucho, Pt. 1
  22. Wake Me, Shake Me
  23. Stewball
  24. Shoppin' for Clothes