RELEASE
November 22, 1994
LABEL
A&M
GENRES
Pop/Rock, Heartland Rock, Rock & Roll

Album Review

John Hiatt's first live album was recorded during a 1994 winter-spring tour of the U.S. (the title is a joke) and finds the singer/songwriter backed by the Guilty Dogs, a guitar-bass-drums trio. He doesn't need any more ammunition than that, not when he's got a set of 15 songs drawn from his last four critically acclaimed albums, including "Thing Called Love" and "Tennessee Plates." Hiatt gives his songs a rougher treatment than some of those who have covered them, his throaty voice giving even love songs like "Angel Eyes" an unsentimental force. In the absence of an A&M best-of, Hiatt Comes Alive at Budokan? makes a good sampler of his work, 1987-1993.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Through Your Handshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/through-your-hands/id388714?i=388712&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  2. Real Fine Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/real-fine-love/id388714?i=388684&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  3. Memphis in the Meantimehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/memphis-in-the-meantime/id388714?i=388686&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  4. Icy Blue Hearthttp://itunes.apple.com/album/icy-blue-heart/id388714?i=388688&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  5. Paper Thinhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/paper-thin/id388714?i=388690&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  6. Angel Eyeshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/angel-eyes/id388714?i=388710&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  7. Your Dad Didhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/your-dad-did/id388714?i=388692&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  8. Have a Little Faith in Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/have-a-little-faith-in-me/id388714?i=388694&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  9. Drive Southhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/drive-south/id388714?i=388696&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  10. Thing Called Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/thing-called-love/id388714?i=388698&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  11. Perfectly Good Guitarhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/perfectly-good-guitar/id388714?i=388700&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  12. Feels Like Rainhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/feels-like-rain/id388714?i=388702&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  13. Tennessee Plateshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tennessee-plates/id388714?i=388704&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  14. Lipstick Sunsethttp://itunes.apple.com/album/lipstick-sunset/id388714?i=388706&uo=5&at=11l9vR
  15. Slow Turninghttp://itunes.apple.com/album/slow-turning/id388714?i=388708&uo=5&at=11l9vR
purchase full album