Thirsty Ear
Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Industrial, Post-Punk, Experimental Rock

Album Review

Recording under the moniker You've Got Foetus on Your Breath, Jim Thirwell, aka Foetus, released his first album, Deaf, in 1981. Thirwell's eccentric trademark sound -- a confrontational sonic tapestry based on harshly recorded instruments, noises, samples, and voices -- is firmly established on Deaf. The songs are twisted heaps of sound that sometimes resemble Frank Zappa outtakes being pummeled to death by Einst├╝rzende Neubauten -- and Thirwell's scatological, antisocial lyrics only add to the bizarreness. If you've got the stomach for it, Deaf can be rewarding -- but it's also a great way to clear the room at a party.
Andy Hinds, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. New York or Bust!
  2. Is That a Line
  3. Why Can't It Happen to Me
  4. I Am Surrounded by Incompetence
  5. What Have You Been Doing?
  6. Today I Started Slogging Again
  7. Harold McMillan
  8. Thank Heaven for Push Button Phones
  9. Flashback
  10. Negative Energy
purchase full album