October 06, 1995
Pop/Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock

Album Review

The second Tears for Fears album following Curt Smith's departure finds Roland Orzabal treading water (and self-consciously deep water at that). Long removed from the simple, melodic melancholy of the band's early work and abandoning the mid-period Beatles-influenced pop, Raoul and the Kings of Spain often borders on progressive rock. There's some genuinely pretty music, like the piano-driven ballad "Secrets," with its soaring guitar line, and the gentle "Sketches of Pain."
Tom Demalon, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Raoul and the Kings of Spain
  2. Falling Down
  3. Secrets
  4. God's Mistake
  5. Sketches of Pain
  6. Los Reyes Católicos
  7. Sorry
  8. Humdrum and Humble
  9. I Choose You
  10. Don't Drink the Water
  11. Me and My Big Ideas
  12. Los Reyes Católicos (Reprise)
purchase full album