October 03, 2011
Rhythm & Blues, Early R&B, Urban Blues, Early Pop/Rock, Jazz Blues, Piano Blues

Album Review

Ray Charles was really closer to Nat King Cole than he was to being an innovative R&B and soul singer (and pianist) when he first began recording with his trio in 1949, although the spark of something unique and special was already visible and audible. This two-disc, 51-track set collects the early sides Charles recorded between 1949 and 1952, and rounds things out with ten tracks cut by Bill Samuels, an artist who was also working in the same Nat King Cole template at the time.
Steve Leggett, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. I Love You, I Love You
  2. Confession Blues
  3. Alone in the City
  4. Can Anyone Ask for More
  5. Rockin' Chair Blues
  6. Here I Am
  7. If I Give You My Love
  8. Can't You See Darling
  9. This Love of Mine
  10. Blues Before Sunrise
  11. How Long Blues
  12. A Sentimental Blues
  13. You'll Always Miss the Water
  14. Ain't That Fine
  15. Don't Put All Your Dreams in One Basket
  16. Sittin' On Top of the World
  17. I've Had My Fun
  18. See See Rider
  19. What Have I Done
  20. Honey Honey
  21. She's On the Ball
  22. Th' Ego Song
  23. Late in the Evening Blues
  24. Someday
  25. I'll Do Anything but Work
  26. I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now
  27. All to Myself
  28. Lonely Boy
  29. Baby Let Me Hold Your Hand
  30. I'm Glad for Your Sake
  31. Baby Won't you Please Come Home
  32. Hey Now
  33. Kissa Me Baby
  34. The Snow Is Falling
  35. Misery in My Heart
  36. Baby Let Me Hear You Call My Name
  37. Walkin' and Talkin'
  38. I'm Wonderin' and Wonderin'
  39. I Can't Do No More (Why Did You Go)
  40. Guitar Blues
  41. I Cover the Waterfront
  42. Jockey Blues
  43. I'm Coming Home to Stay
  44. My Bicycle Tillie
  45. One Hundred Years from Today
  46. Candy Store Jump
  47. That Chick's Too Young To Fry
  48. I Cover the Waterfront
  49. Jockey Blues
  50. Port Wine