Rhythm & Blues, Doo Wop, Early R&B, Rock & Roll, Early Pop/Rock

Album Review

The companion volume to Rhino's Best of Doo-Wop Uptempo checks out the ballad side of the aisle and comes up with 18 smoothies in the bargain. Highlights include Dion and the Belmonts' "Where or When," the Five Satins' "In the Still of the Nite," the Cadillacs' "Gloria," the Moonglows' original of "Sincerely," the Velvetones' "Glory of Love," the Crests' "16 Candles," the Flamingos' evocative "I Only Have Eyes for You," and Lee Andrews and the Hearts' "Teardrops." Selections from the Pastels, the Skyliners, the Jive Five, the Dells, the Blue jays, the Penguins, the Spaniels, and the Heartbeats complete the set.
Cub Koda, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Where or When
  2. Since I Don't Have You
  3. In the Still of the Night
  4. My True Story
  5. Gloria
  6. Oh, What a Night
  7. Lover's Island
  8. Sincerely
  9. The Glory of Love
  10. Ten Commandments of Love
  11. Earth Angel
  12. Sixteen Candles
  13. I Only Have Eyes for You
  14. Teardrops
  15. Been So Long
  16. A Thousand Miles Away
  17. Daddy's Home
  18. Goodnight, Sweetheart, Goodnight