June 18, 1996
Pop/Rock, Heavy Metal, Southern Rock, Hard Rock

Album Review

After spending several years with Ozzy Osbourne and recording one album with the heavy Southern rock trio Pride & Glory, guitarist Zakk Wylde released his debut solo album, Book of Shadows, in June of 1996. Naturally, the album is a guitar showcase, with each song boasting a dazzling guitar solo or two. That much was expected. What is a surprise is the musical diversity apparent throughout the album. Wylde does kick out some heavy riff-driven rockers, but he also detours into blues, country, and folk on occasion. That diversity ensures that Book of Shadows is more listenable for the average listener than most guitarist-led albums. However, Wylde's songwriting skills remain weak; although the playing is memorable, the melodies rarely are. Nevertheless, there's enough prime instrumental work here to make it a very worthwhile listen for guitar aficionados and a few of the tracks should satiate fans of straight-ahead heavy boogie rock. [Book of Shadows was reissued in 1999 with a bonus disc, containing the non-LP cuts "Evil Ways," "The Color Green," and "Peddlers of Death."]
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Between Heaven and Hell
  2. Sold My Soul
  3. Road Back Home
  4. Way Beyond Empty
  5. Throwin' It All Away
  6. What You're Look'n For
  7. Dead as Yesterday
  8. Too Numb to Cry
  9. The Things You Do
  10. 1,000,000 Miles Away
  11. I Thank You Child
purchase full album