Vocal Music, Adult Contemporary, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Jazz Instrument, Blues-Rock, Piano Jazz, Jazz-Rock

Album Review

Star Turtle is Harry Connick, Jr.'s most ambitious album, a four-part suite that attempts to tell the evolution of jazz and R&B to funk and rock. Given such an unwieldy concept, it's surprising how well the album works, actually. Connick can play jazz and R&B with flair, if not much identity. What sinks the album is when he treads too closely to contemporary waters, because he sounds old-fashioned and surprisingly conservative when he works in a rock & roll or funk-oriented idiom. Nevertheless, Connick's revivalism works quite well when he sticks to more traditional forms and that's what makes Star Turtle an entertaining listen.
Thom Owens, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Star Turtle, Pt. 1
  2. How Do Y'all Know
  3. Hear Me in the Harmony
  4. Reason to Believe
  5. Just Like Me
  6. Star Turtle, Pt. 2
  7. Little Farley
  8. Eyes of the Seeker
  9. Nobody Like You to Me
  10. Booze Hound
  11. Star Turtle, Pt. 3
  12. Never Young
  13. Mind on the Matter
  14. City Beneath the Sea
  15. Star Turtle, Pt. 4
  16. [CD-Rom Track]
purchase full album