Sony Music Distribution
Pop/Rock, Soul, Album Rock, Soft Rock, Boogie Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Blue-Eyed Soul

Album Review

In the spring of 1996, the Doobie Brothers performed a benefit concert for the Wildlife Conservation Society, which was captured on the double-disc live album, Rockin' Down the Highway. During the show, all three of the group's lead vocalists -- Tom Johnston, Michael McDonald, and Patrick Simmons -- performed with the group, which was a first in the band's history. Fittingly, the Doobies used the concert to celebrate their past, playing hits like "Black Water," "China Grove," and "What a Fool Believes," but they also decided to showcase two new songs, which were never released on any previous album. Unsurprisingly, these songs pale in comparison to the hits, which the band play with affection, if not overwhelming energy. And since the group is laidback and nostalgic throughout Rocking' Down the Highway, the album is best-suited for fans who are also nostalgic for the band's glory days. In other words, it's pleasant, but entirely unnecessary.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Dangerous
  2. Jesus Is Just Alright
  3. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me)
  4. Slow Burn
  5. Dependin' on You
  6. Another Park, Another Sunday
  7. The Doctor
  8. Slack Key Soquel Bag [Instrumental]
  9. South City Midnight Lady
  10. Eyes of Silver
  11. Black Water
  12. Takin' It to the Streets
  13. Rockin' Down the Highway
  14. Minute by Minute
  15. Wild Ride
  16. China Grove
  17. Dark Eyed Cajun Woman
  18. Neal's Fandango
  19. Without You
  20. Clear as the Driven Snow
  21. Excited
  22. What a Fool Believes
  23. Long Train Runnin'
  24. Listen to the Music
purchase full album